Koala or koala

22 Январь, 2011

  

Koala or koala (Phascolarctos cinereus) - The only kind of a family of koalas, koala lives in eastern Australia.
Koala - the small beast of a dense body, body length of 60-82 cm, weight from 5 to 16 kg. The tail is very short koalas, invisible from the outside, Head large and broad, large ears, eyes are small. The coat is dense and soft koala, on the back color changes from light gray to dark gray, sometimes reddish or reddish, belly lighter.

Size and color depends on koala habitat, both koalas Victoria larger, they have a thick fur is dark gray, often with a brownish tinge on the back. In tropical and subtropical Квинсленде koalas are much smaller and lighter, fur they have fewer and shorter.

The limbs are adapted to climbing koala - the thumb and index fingers fore and hind limbs contrasted with the rest of the, that allows the koala to grasp the branches of trees, on the thumb claw of the hind limbs absent. Claws strong and sharp, capable of withstanding the weight of the animal. Koalas - one of the few non-primate, with a papillary pattern on the fingertips, fingerprints of koalas are indistinguishable from human fingerprints, even under an electron microscope.

Koalas are usually silent, and served only to vote during the breeding season, or in case of danger, frightened or injured koala cries and "crying", as a child.

Called a koala bear because the marsupial koala face is a bit like a bear, and the location of the brood pouch and the dental formula brings him to the wombats, with whom he apparently, had a common ancestor.

Koalas inhabit eucalypt forests and spending most of his life in the crowns of these trees. Day of the koala sleeps 18-22 hours a day, and at night climbs trees, looking for food. Even if the koala is not sleeping, it usually sits perfectly still for hours, clasping a branch or tree trunk forepaws. Koala down to earth only to move to a new tree, to which you can not jump so far, koalas and jumping from tree to tree on a surprisingly clever and confident.

Slowness koalas connected with the peculiarities of his power. He has adapted to feed almost exclusively on eucalyptus leaves and shoots, which contain little fiber and protein, but contain many phenolic and terpene compounds, toxic to most animals. In addition, young shoots, especially closer to the fall, contain hydrocyanic acid. Due to their toxic properties of the food competition from other animals from koalas extremely small - except him eat only eucalyptus leaves koltsehvosty marsupial opossum and flying squirrel.

In order not to poison, koalas are choosing to eat only those types of eucalyptus trees, which contain less phenolic compounds, and prefer trees, growing on fertile soils (especially along river banks), whose leaves of poison concentration below, than that of eucalyptus, growing on poor, marginal lands. As a consequence,, of 800 koalas eat eucalyptus species of 120 species. Choose an appropriate food koalas, apparently, developed sense of smell helps. In captivity, where the choice of the animal is usually less, it can even result in food poisoning cumulative effect.
The rate of metabolism in the body koalas almost two times less, than most mammals (with the exception of wombats and sloths), - It helps him to compensate for low nutritional diet. On the day of the koala is required 0,5 to 1,1 kg of leaves, which he carefully grinds and chews, the mass is accumulating in the cheek pouches. Like all mammals, eating fibrous vegetable foods, for koalas in the digestive tract there is a rich flora, including bacteria, transform the cellulose into digestible unpalatable compounds. Cecum, which is in the process of digestion, highly developed, reaching a length of 2,4 m. Toxic substances, getting into the blood, detoxified in the liver.

  

"Koala" in the language of the tribes New South Wales means "no drink", - All the necessary moisture gets koala eucalyptus leaves, and from the dew on the leaves. The water they drink only during periods of prolonged drought and during sickness. To compensate for a deficiency of minerals in the body, koalas from time to time, eat the earth.

Natural regulator of these animals in nature do not exist - indigenous predators do not hunt for them; on koalas and dingoes attacking only wild dogs. But koalas are often ill. Cystitis, periostitis of the skull, conjunctivitis, sinusitis - their usual disease; sinusitis often leads to inflammation of the lungs, particularly cold winter.

Female koalas are solitary lifestyle and adhere to their sites, which rarely leave. In the fertile fields of areas individuals often overlap. Males are not territorial, but even less sociable - at a meeting, especially during the breeding season, They often attack each other, inflicting injury.

Only during the breeding season, which lasts from October to February, koalas gather groups, consisting of an adult male and several females. At this time, males often rub their breasts on trees, leaving odorous marks, and make loud cries of enlistment, sometimes heard by a mile. Since males are born less, than females, around male koalas in breeding season gather harems of 2-5 females. Mating takes place on the tree (optional eucalyptus).

Pregnancy lasts 30-35 days. The litter of one cub, which has a length at birth of 15-18 mm and a weight of about 5,5 g; occasionally twins. The calf is in the bag for 6 months, feeding on milk, and then another six months "travels" on the back or on the mother's abdomen, clinging to her fur. At 30 weeks of age, he starts to eat excrement semi mother, consisting of a kind of half-digested pulp of eucalyptus leaves, - In this way in the digestive tract of young koalas fall microorganisms, necessary for the digestive process. This mush mother releases about a month. At the age of years cubs become independent - young females aged 12-18 months to go and find areas, but males are often left with their mothers up to 2-3 years.
Koalas breed every 1-2 years. Sexual maturity in females occurs in 2-3 years, males - in 3-4 years. On average, the koala lives 12-13 years, Although there are cases, when they lived to the age of 20.

Before the arrival of Europeans leading cause koalas were, drought and fires. In the XIX-XX centuries, the koala became target species because of their thick fur. Only in 1924 , of the eastern states have been exported 2 million. skins.

Trust in people, These "Bears" became easy prey for hunters. The sharp decline in the number of the beast forced the Australian government first limit, and 1927 year and ban hunting koalas, but only to the 1953-1954 years in their population began to recover slowly. In Australia, the koala parks created Lone Pine Koala for Brisbane and Cone Koala Park at Perth.

 

 

Recent Entries:

Best Winery Goldfilda, ч5

Try the sparkling rose at the winery Taltarni in Pyrenees. On [more]

Best places to take pictures in Goldfilde, ч4

Stunning attractions Rosalind Park. Climb on [more]

The best galleries and space for family trips in Goldfilde, ч3

A trip by steam train - the best way to enjoy the magnificent views, [more]

Where in the Goldfields are the best places with a rich past of the region, ч2

A unique trip to Sovereign Hill. So, where the Victorian Gold [more]

Your cheat sheet in the Goldfields region of Victoria

Spend some time, exploring the Goldfields region of Victoria. This [more]

Data on tourism in South Australia show record revenues from British and Chinese visitors

Series of matches for cricket The Ashes Test in December attracted huge [more]

Best 10 the beaches of Australia and 20 the world in 2018 year version Trip Adviser

Grace Bay - Providensialis, Turks and Caicos Islands, was named best beach in [more]

The best beaches in Australia and the world 2018 year version Trip Adviser

Manly Beach / Manly Beach was named the best beach in Australia. Photo: The Daily [more]

Best Winery Goldfilda, ч5

Try the sparkling rose at the winery Taltarni in Pyrenees. On [more]

Коала или сумчатый медведь

22 Январь, 2011

  

Коала или сумчатый медведь (Phascolarctos cinereus) — единственный вид семейства коал, коала обитает на востоке Австралии.
Коала — небольшой зверь плотного телосложения, длина тела 60–82 см, вес от 5 до 16 кг. Хвост коалы очень короткий, снаружи незаметен, голова большая и широкая, уши крупные, глаза маленькие. Волосяной покров коалы густой и мягкий, на спине окраска изменяется от светло-серой до тёмно-серой, иногда рыжеватая или красноватая, брюшко более светлое.

Размеры и окраска коалы зависит от места обитания, так коалы штата Виктория крупнее, у них более густой мех тёмно-серого цвета, часто с коричневатым оттенком на спине. В тропическом и субтропическом Квинсленде коалы намного мельче и светлее, мех у них реже и короче.

Конечности коалы приспособлены к лазанью — большой и указательный пальцы передних и задних конечностей противопоставлены остальным, что позволяет коале обхватывать ветви деревьев, на большом пальце задних конечностей коготь отсутствует. Когти сильные и острые, способные выдерживать вес животного.  Коалы — одни из немногих не-приматов, имеющих папиллярный узор на подушечках пальцев, отпечатки пальцев коалы неотличимы от отпечатков пальца человека даже под электронным микроскопом.

Коалы обычно молчаливы и подают голос только в период размножения или в случае опасности, испуганный или раненная коала кричит и «плачет», как ребёнок.

Коалу называют сумчатым медведем потому что морда коалы немного напоминает медведя, а расположение выводковой сумки и зубная формула сближают его с вомбатами, с которыми он видимо, имел общего предка.

Коалы населяют эвкалиптовые  леса и почти всю жизнь проводя в кронах этих деревьев. Днём коала спит по 18–22 часов в сутки, а ночью лазает по деревьям, отыскивая корм. Даже если коала не спит, то обычно часами сидит совершенно неподвижно, обхватив ветку или ствол дерева передними лапами. На землю коала спускается только для перехода на новое дерево, до которого не может допрыгнуть, а прыгают коалы с дерева на дерево на удивление ловко и уверенно.

Медлительность коалы связана с особенностями его питания. Он приспособился питаться почти исключительно побегами и листьями эвкалипта, которые волокнисты и содержат мало белка, зато содержат много фенольных и терпеновых соединений, ядовитых для большинства животных. Кроме того, молодые побеги, особенно ближе к осени, содержат синильную кислоту. Благодаря их ядовитым свойствам пищевая конкуренция со стороны других животных у коалы чрезвычайно мала — кроме него листьями эвкалипта питаются только кольцехвостый опоссум и сумчатая летяга.

Чтобы не отравиться, коалы выбирают в пищу только те виды эвкалиптов, которые содержат меньше фенольных соединений, и предпочитают деревья, произрастающие на плодородных почвах (особенно вдоль берегов рек), в чьих листьях концентрация яда ниже, чем у эвкалиптов, растущих на бедных, неплодородных землях. Как следствие, из 800 видов эвкалипта коалы питаются всего 120 видами. Выбирать подходящую пищу коалам, видимо, помогает развитое обоняние. В неволе, где выбор у животного обычно меньше, оно способно даже отравиться пищей в результате кумулятивного эффекта.
Скорость обмена веществ в организме коалы почти в два раза меньше, чем у большинства млекопитающих (за исключением вомбатов и ленивцев), — это помогает ему компенсировать низкую питательность диеты. В день коале требуется от 0,5 до 1,1 кг листьев, которые он тщательно измельчает и пережевывает, накапливая получившуюся массу в защёчных мешках. Как и у всех млекопитающих, питающихся волокнистыми растительными кормами, у коал в пищеварительном тракте присутствует богатая микрофлора, в том числе бактерии, переводящие неперевариваемую целлюлозу  в усваиваемые соединения. Слепая кишка, где идёт процесс переваривания, чрезвычайно развита, достигая в длину 2,4 м. Ядовитые вещества, попадая в кровь, обезвреживаются в печени.

  

«Коала» на языке племён Нового Южного Уэльса означает «не пить», — всю необходимую влагу коала получает из листьев эвкалиптов, а также из росы на листьях. Воду они пьют только в периоды длительных засух и во время болезни. Чтобы восполнить дефицит минеральных веществ в организме, коалы время от времени поедают землю.

Естественного регулятора численности этих зверей в природе не существует — аборигенные хищники на них не охотятся; на коал нападают только динго и одичавшие собаки. Зато коалы часто болеют. Цистит, периостит черепа, конъюнктивит, синусит — их обычные заболевания; синусит часто приводит к воспалению легких, особенно холодной зимой.

Самки коал ведут одиночный образ жизни и придерживаются своих участков, которые крайне редко покидают. В плодородных областях участки отдельных особей зачастую перекрывают друг друга. Самцы не территориальны, но еще менее общительны — при встрече, особенно в период размножения, они часто нападают друг на друга, нанося увечья.

Только в период размножения, который продолжается с октября по февраль, коалы собираются группами, состоящими из взрослого самца и нескольких самок. В это время самцы часто трутся грудью о деревья, оставляя пахучие метки, и издают громкие призывные крики, порой слышимые за километр. Поскольку самцов рождается меньше, чем самок, вокруг самцов коал в брачный сезон собираются гаремы из 2—5 самок. Спаривание происходит на дереве (необязательно эвкалипте).

Беременность длится 30—35 дней. В помёте всего один детёныш, который при рождении имеет длину всего 15–18 мм и массу около 5,5 г; изредка двойня. Детёныш остается в сумке в течение 6 месяцев, питаясь молоком, а затем ещё полгода «путешествует» на спине или на животе матери, вцепившись в её мех. В 30-недельном возрасте он начинает поедать полужидкие экскременты матери, состоящие из своеобразной кашицы из полупереваренных листьев эвкалипта, — таким путём в пищеварительный тракт молодых коал попадают микроорганизмы, необходимые для пищеварительного процесса. Эту кашицу мать выделяет примерно в течение месяца. В возрасте года детёныши становятся самостоятельными — молодые самки в возрасте 12—18 месяцев отправляются на поиски участков, но самцы часто остаются с матерями до 2—3 лет.
Размножаются коалы раз в 1—2 года. Половая зрелость у самок наступает в 2—3 года, у самцов — в 3—4 года. В среднем коала живёт 12—13 лет, хотя известны случаи, когда они доживали до 20-летнего возраста.

До появления европейцев основной причиной смертности коал были, засухи и пожары. В XIX–XX веках коала стал объектом промысла из-за своего густого меха. Только в 1924 году  из восточных штатов было экспортировано 2 млн. шкурок.

Доверчивые к людям, эти «медвежата» становились лёгкой добычей для охотников. Резкое сокращение численности этого зверя вынудило правительство Австралии сперва ограничить, а в 1927 году и запретить охоту на коал, но только к 1953—1954 годам их популяция начала понемногу восстанавливаться.  В Австралии созданы коала-парки Лоун Пайн Коала под Брисбеном и Коуну Коала Парк под Пертом.

 

 

Последние записи:

________________
Самое популярное на сайте:
________________
Последние записи:
________________
Путешествуем на авто по Австралии: