Great White Egret

2 April, 2011

  

Great White Egret ( Ardea alba) - A large wading bird of the family tsaplevyh, living on the banks of rivers, lakes and wetlands across Australia.

Great Egret fairly large bird, the height of the 94 до 104 Centimeters,weight of adult birds from 900 до 1100 Gram, a wingspan before30-145 cm.

Great white heron plumage all white, yellow beak, long and straight, feet long, dark gray and a short wedge-shaped tail. Heron long neck, S-shaped, so the bird can quickly pull or draw a neck. Tuft on his head a great white heron, which occurs in other species of herons, no.

 

Smooth flight heron, at about 28-51 kilometers per hour, overland great white egret moves slowly, stretching his neck in search of food. Heron hunts either alone or in groups,during the day and at dusk, , and after dark get in groups with other herons and seeks refuge.

The diet of the Great White Heron is wide and in the choice of eating poultry a little picky, the basic food ration constitute frog, Snake, fish, crayfish, small rodents, Crickets, grasshoppers and other insects of all kinds.

 

  

  

During the period of breeding herons have their plot and guard it carefully, but after the breeding season pairs often break up. Search for food, during the breeding season, herons prefer   near, but when   need to make the flights on the distance 6-20 km.

The period of puberty among great white herons occurs in 2 year. These herons are seasonal monogamous birds, that is, create a couple of only one breeding season, but there are rare cases of re-reunion of the same pair.   during the year, only one offspring, for the reproduction of selected spring or summer, When there are a large variety of food.

Great egrets nest in large colonies, often with other species of herons, such as great blue herons and snowy herons, the male arrives at the colony first and chooses the location for future nest.   Herons often change places nests and colonies, so males arrived approved at the new location and begin to attract females, performing ritual dances.

Interested females sit on neighbouring branches and watch, but they can run, and the meeting dance or pokruzhitsja around the future nest. The female can also chase away nearby other females. The couple is selected carefully, and one of the birds can sometimes chase away the other. The nest is built immediately after, how a couple is created.

The nest of the great white heron resembles a large pile of sticks and twigs., collected in one place. It can persist for several years, Although the colony can move to another area or choose other trees. Material is gathered in all possible ways, including theft from neighbouring nests. Usually collecting building material deals with male, While the female puts it in the nest.

The female lays 3-6 eggs, measuring approximately   57 mm, at intervals 2-3 of the day every day,  eggs incubate  like a female, so is the male. The incubation period is 23-26 дней, after which, in the same order, almost naked and helpless chicks appear.. Among chicks begins a brutal competition for access to the parent food, Moreover, the chicks that appeared first, due to their size, have an advantage over their younger peers - they can peck at them and try to monopolize their right to days to feed.. If the year is very good in terms of eating, all offspring can feather, most often, however, survives two or even one chick — the rest perish. Full plumage of chicks occurs in 42-49 дней. Good about the young birds fly through 7 weeks, However, even before the 10-11 weeks they depend on parents.Days

 

Life expectancy of Great White egrets, in the wild, on average, about 15 лет, а в неволе около 22 лет. In adult herons are observed natural enemies, but eggs and chicks often hunt crows, new world Vulture   and raccoons. Mortality in birds is high, While they are in the nest, and in the first few months after feathering.

 

 

 

Latest entries:

Australia's drying rivers

Rivers flow in Australia, which dry up in certain periods. [more]

29 причин, why you need to visit Brisbane right now

Queensland is the place for some of the best island adventures [more]

Nuances of obtaining an Australian visa for citizens of Ukraine

Topics, who plans to temporarily or permanently move to Australia, [more]

Holidays in Australia - what to see for tourists?

A trip to the famous green continent leaves no one behind [more]

This abandoned beach is considered the best in Australia, Ch. 2

Naturally, such good places do not remain a secret for a long time. [more]

Top 5 best ski resorts in Australia

Most people associate Australia with heat, large [more]

Beach Resort in North New South Wales, which is becoming increasingly popular

Beach in the north of New South Wales, to which travelers [more]

Australia's drying rivers

Rivers flow in Australia, which dry up in certain periods. [more]

________________
Самое популярное на сайте:
________________
Latest entries:
________________
Путешествуем на авто по Австралии:
________________

Большая белая цапля

2 Апрель, 2011

  

Большая белая цапля ( Ardea alba) — крупная болотная птица семейства цаплевых, обитающая на берегах рек, озёр и болот по всей территории Австралии.

Большая белая цапля довольно крупная птица, её высота от 94 до 104 сантиметров,  вес взрослой птицы от 900 до 1100 грамм, а размах крыльев 130—145 сантиметров.

Оперение большой белой цапли полностью белое, клюв жёлтый, длинный и прямой, лапы длинные тёмно-серые и короткий клинообразный хвост. Шея у цапли длинная, S-образной формы, благодаря чему птица способна быстро вытянуть  или втянуть  шею в себя. Хохолок на голове большой белой цапли, который встречается у других видов цапель, отсутствует.

 

Полёт цапли плавный, со скоростью около 28-51 километров в час, по суше большая белая цапля  передвигается  медленно, вытянув шею в поисках пищи. Охотится цапля как в одиночку так и группами,  в дневное время и в  сумерках, , а с наступлением темноты сбивается в группы с другими цаплями и ищет убежище.

Рацион большой белой цапли широк и в выборе еды птицы мало разборчивы, основной пищевой рацион составляют лягушки, змеи, рыба, речные раки, мелкие грызуны, сверчки, кузнечики и другие всевозможные насекомые.

 

  

В период размножения цапли имеют свой участок и тщательно его охраняют, но после сезона размножения пары зачастую распадаются. Искать пищу, в период размножения, цапли предпочитают  неподалёку, но при  необходимости могут совершать перелёты на расстояние 6-20 км.

Период половой зрелости у большой белой цапли наступает в 2 года. эти цапли являются сезонными моногамными птицами, то есть создают пару только на один брачный сезон, но известны редкие случаи повторного воссоединения одной и той же пары.  В течение года выводится только одно потомство, для размножения выбирается весна или лето, когда имеется большое разнообразие пищи.

Гнездятся большие белые цапли большими колониями, часто с другими видами цапель, такими как большой голубой цаплей и снежной цаплей, самец прибывает в колонию первым и выбирает место для будущего гнезда.  Цапли часто меняют места гнездовий и колонии, поэтому прибывшие на место самцы утверждаются на новом месте и начинают привлекать самок, выполняя ритуальные танцы.

Заинтересованные самки усаживаются на соседние ветки и наблюдают, но могут выполнить и встречный танец или покружиться вокруг будущего гнезда. Самка также может отгонять находящихся поблизости других самок. Пара выбирается осторожно, и одна из птиц иногда может прогнать другую. Гнездо строится сразу после того, как пара создана.

Гнездо большой белой цапли напоминает большую груду палочек и веточек, собранных в одном месте. Оно может сохраняться несколько лет, хотя колония может переместиться в другой район или выбрать другие деревья. Материал собирается всеми возможными способами, включая и воровство из соседних гнёзд. Обычно собиранием строительного материала занимается самец, в то время как самка укладывает его в гнездо.

Самка откладывает 3-6  яиц размером примерно 57 мм, с интервалом 2-3 дня каждое,  яйца насиживают  как самка, так и самец. Инкубационный период составляет 23-26 дней, после чего в таком же порядке появляются практически голые и беспомощные птенцы. Среди птенцов начинается жестокое соревнование за доступ к родительской пище, причём появившиеся первыми птенцы в силу своего размера имеют преимущество перед младшими сверстниками — они могут клевать их и стараться монополизировать своё право на доступ к кормлению. Если год очень хороший в плане еды, то всё потомство может опериться, однако чаще всего выживает два или даже один птенец — остальные погибают. Полное оперение птенцов наступает через 42-49 дней. Хорошо летать молодые птицы начинают примерно через 7 недель, однако ещё до 10-11 недель они зависят от родителей.

 

Продолжительность жизни большой белой цапли, в условиях дикой природы, в среднем составляет около 15 лет, а в неволе около 22 лет. У взрослых цапель не наблюдается природных врагов, но за яйцами и птенцами часто охотятся вороны, американские грифы  и еноты. Смертность у птиц высока, пока они находятся в гнезде и в первые нескольких месяцев после оперения.

 

 

Последние записи:

________________
Самое популярное на сайте:
________________
Последние записи:
________________
Путешествуем на авто по Австралии: