Hunter River

13 April, 2010

  

Река Хантер ( Hunter River)Hunter ( Hunter River) - River v. State New South Wales.
Length - 300 км, basin area - about 22 Thd. км. The sources are located okme slopes of Liverpool, Further, the river flows through the valley, located at 120-300 km north of Sydney and one of the largest plains on the coast of. Hunter falls in the Tasman Sea in the city Newcastle. The largest tributaries - the River Paterson and Williams.

The river was discovered by Europeans in the 1790s. In 1796 year near the mouth of the river was discovered coal. Until now, the port of Newcastle is the world's leading exporter of coal. The name of the river was in 1797 in honor of John Hunter, naval officer and governor of the colony of New South Wales.

Hunter Valley climate is favorable for the development of agriculture. The average temperature near the coast ranges from 13 ° C in winter to +23 ° C in summer, precipitation - 1100 мм, in some years - about 2000 мм. In the mountains imme winter the temperature can drop to zero.

The river is known for its flooding, after the catastrophic floods in February 1955 , the dam was built Glenbon. 2007 , also caused significant damage to.

In the river valley is home to about 630 Thd. person, More than half - in the coastal cities of Newcastle and Lake Macquarie.

  

  

This is also interesting:

 

 

Latest entries:

Australia's drying rivers

Rivers flow in Australia, which dry up in certain periods. [more]

29 причин, why you need to visit Brisbane right now

Queensland is the place for some of the best island adventures [more]

________________
________________
Самое популярное на сайте:
________________
Latest entries:
________________
Путешествуем на авто по Австралии:

Река Хантер

13 Апрель, 2010

  

Река Хантер ( Hunter River)Хантер ( Hunter River) — река в штате Новый Южный Уэльс.
Длина — 300 км, площадь бассейна — около 22 тыс. км. Истоки находятся на склонах хребта Ливерпул, далее река протекает по долине, расположенной в 120—300 км к северу от Сиднея и одной из крупнейших равнин на побережье штата. Впадает Хантер в Тасманово море в городе Ньюкасл. Крупнейшие притоки — реки Патерсон и Уильямс.

Река была открыта европейцами в 1790-е гг. В 1796 году недалеко от устья реки был обнаружен уголь. До сих пор порт Ньюкасла находится в мировых лидерах по экспорту каменного угля. Своё название река получила в 1797 году в честь Джона Хантера, морского офицера и губернатора колонии Новый Южный Уэльс.

Климат долины Хантера благоприятен для развития сельского хозяйства. Средняя температура близ побережья колеблется от +13°С зимой до +23 °C летом, количество осадков — 1100 мм, в некоторые годы — около 2000 мм. В горах зимой температура может упасть до нулевой отметки.

Река известна своими наводнениями, после катастрофического наводнения в феврале 1955 года была построена дамба Гленбон.  Тем не менее наводнение в июня 2007 года также нанесло значительный ущерб.

В долине реки проживает около 630 тыс. человек, более половины — в приморских городах Ньюкасл и Лэйк-Маккуори.

  

 

 

Последние записи:

________________
Самое популярное на сайте:
________________
Последние записи:
________________
Путешествуем на авто по Австралии: