‘island’

The discovery of Australia by James Cook

  

  

  

The ancestors of the tribes, which is now called Aboriginal, began to settle in Australia for at least 40 000 лет назад, and possibly, even 100 000 лет наyears ago spread over much of the continent, and penetrated to the o.Tasmaniyu.

Their main occupations were collecting edible plants, Hunting and Fishing. The number of Aboriginal people is estimated in various ways - from 300 Thd. before 1,2 Million. Man. Trepang traders from the islands of Indonesia, regularly visited the northern coast of Australia before the foundation of the first European settlement on this continent in the 1788, but it is unknown, When traders began sailing mentioned.

Read the rest of this entry »

 

 

 

South Wales and his administration

Arthur Phillip was the first governor of the colony. For health reasons he had to return to England in 1792, and over the next three years, two time Governor, John Hunter and Phillip King Gidle, alternately tried to control the colony with the squad, enrolled in England and known as the Corps Novoyuzhnouelssky.

The successor of the governor was William Bligh, whose name became known in connection with the mutiny on the ship "Bounty". Bligh tried to put in the colony and naval discipline came into conflict with the, who sought to extract personal gain from the existing difficulties in the colony.

Drawing on the rich and influential colonists, Corps Commander Major General George Novoyuzhnouelsskogo Johnston dismissed and arrested Bligh. Johnston was convicted by a military court for taking part in this "rum revolution", and in 1809 Governor was appointed Colonel Lachlan Macquarie.

Read the rest of this entry »

The Labour Movement 1890, the emergence of trade unions

Professional organizations in Australia have the 1850s, when the Association of Builders began agitating for an 8-hour day. However, unions began to exert great influence on the policy after 1890. By this time the miners, Sailors, dockers and sheep shearer were united in unions. After unsuccessful strikes 1890-1892 strengthened the advocates of political action. At this time the Labour Party was formed.

Working movement of 1890-1930s advocated immigration restriction, especially from Asia and Pacific Islands; the termination of activity of enterprises with sweatshops; the introduction of systems for the control of wages and arbitration; old-age pensions.

Read the rest of this entry »

________________
Documentary films about Australia:
________________
Frequently asked questions about Australia
________________
Самое популярное на сайте:
________________
For tourist
(not only about Australia)
________________
Latest entries:
________________
Путешествуем на авто по Австралии:
________________

________________
Новости Австралии
________________

‘остров’

Открытие Австралии Джеймсом Куком

  

  

  

Предки племен, которых теперь называют аборигенами, начали заселять Австралию по крайней мере 40 000 лет назад, а возможно, даже 100 000 лет назад. Они распространились на большей части материка и проникли на о.Тасманию.

Их основными занятиями были сбор съедобных растений, охота и рыболовство. Численность аборигенов оценивается по-разному – от 300 тыс. до 1,2 млн. человек. Торговцы трепангами с островов Индонезии регулярно посещали северные берега Австралии еще до основания первого европейского поселения на этом материке в 1788, однако неизвестно, когда начались плавания упомянутых торговцев.

Прочитать остальную часть записи »

 

 

 

Южный Уэльс и его администрация

Артур Филлип был первым губернатором колонии. По состоянию здоровья ему пришлось вернуться в Англию в 1792, и на протяжении следующих трех лет два временных губернатора, Джон Хантер и Филип Гидли Кинг, поочередно пытались управлять колонией с помощью отряда, набиравшегося в Англии и известного под названием Новоюжноуэльсский корпус.

Преемником этих губернаторов стал Уильям Блай, имя которого стало известно в связи с мятежом на корабле «Баунти». Блай пытался навести в колонии флотскую дисциплину и вошел в конфликт с теми, кто стремился извлечь личную выгоду из существовавших в колонии затруднений.

Опираясь на богатых и влиятельных колонистов, командир Новоюжноуэльсского корпуса майор Джордж Джонстон сместил и арестовал Блая. Джонстон был осужден военным судом за участие в этой «ромовой революции», и в 1809 губернатором был назначен полковник Лаклан Маккуори.

Прочитать остальную часть записи »

Рабочее движение 1890-х, возникновение профсоюзов

Профессиональные организации Австралии  возникли в 1850-х годах, когда объединения строителей начали агитацию за 8-часовой рабочий день. Впрочем, профсоюзы стали оказывать большое влияние на политику только после 1890. К этому времени горняки, моряки, докеры и стригальщики овец были объединены в союзы. После неудачных забастовок 1890–1892 упрочились позиции сторонников политических акций. В это время была создана Лейбористская партия.

Рабочее движение 1890-х годов выступало за ограничение иммиграции, особенно из Азии и островов Тихого океана; прекращение деятельности предприятий с потогонной системой; введение систем контроля заработной платы и рабочего арбитража; выплата пенсий по старости.

Прочитать остальную часть записи »

________________
Документальные фильмы об Австралии:
________________
Популярные вопросы об Австралии
________________
Самое популярное на сайте:
________________
Туристу на заметку
(не только об Австралии)
________________
Последние записи:
________________
Путешествуем на авто по Австралии:
________________