Ord River

16 Апрель, 2010

  

Река Орд (Ord River)Ord (Ord River) - A river in the Australian state Western Australia.The river is Ord 320 km,source of the river at the foot of Mount Wells, which is part of the Albert Edward Range, near the town of Bedford Downs.
The river flows eastward through Purnululu National Park,and then takes a northerly course, flowing through the Lake Argyle,which is the largest reservoir of fresh water in Australia. After Kununarra of the river bed turns to the west,falling into the Gulf of Cambridge, the Timor Sea. River flows through the city of Lake Argyle, Кунунарра.

The river was first investigated in 1879 by explorer Alexander Forrest, who named it in honor of Harry's Horde, Governor of Western Australia 1877 By 1880 year.

In 1963 year on the river was built irrigation system (Ord River Irrigation Scheme), which was later expanded: Including, in June 1972 was the opening of the dam Ord River (Ord River Dam),to maintain water levels in Lake Argyle.

  

  


At the present time in the region are grown sugar cane, peanuts, sorghum, sunflower, melon and vegetables. In addition, River hydropower development is, and the city Kununarra, Founded in 1967 was near one of the dams,is a regional and tourist center.

 

 

 

Latest entries:

What to bring to the beach?

Going to the beach can be an interesting activity for the whole family, But for [more]

Sydney shops

A variety of flower exhibitions in spring and on Mother's Day in a huge [more]

Knightcap National Park, Ч3

Have a picnic, walk or set up a campground in [more]

What to do on the Northern Rivers of New South Wales

Scenic beaches, charming towns, Charming [more]

Australia's hottest deals right now: Meet the animal kingdom, C9

Africa may be the best place to safari animals, but [more]

Australia's hottest deals right now: Best car route, C8

Big Sur Road between San Francisco and Los Angeles on the coast [more]

________________
Самое популярное на сайте:
________________
Latest entries:
________________
Путешествуем на авто по Австралии:
________________

Река Орд

16 Апрель, 2010

  

Река Орд (Ord River)Орд (Ord River) — река на территории австралийского штата Западная Австралия.  Длина реки Орд составляет 320 км,  исток реки  находится у подножия горы Уэллс, являющейся частью хребта Альберт-Эдвард, вблизи города Бедфорд-Даунс.
Река протекает в восточном направлении через Национальный парк  Пурнулулу,  после чего берёт курс на север, протекая через озеро Аргайл,  которое является крупнейшим водохранилищем пресной воды в Австралии.  После города Кунунарра русло реки поворачивается на запад,  впадая в залив Кембридж Тиморского моря.  Река протекает через города Лейк-Аргайл, Кунунарра.

Река впервые была исследована в 1879 году путешественником Александром Форрестом, который назвал её в честь Гарри Орда, губернатора Западной Австралии с 1877 по 1880 года.

В 1963 году на реке была сооружена оросительная система (Ord River Irrigation Scheme), которая впоследствии была расширена: в том числе, в июне 1972 года состоялось  открытие плотины Орд-Ривер (Ord River Dam),  для поддержания уровня воды в озере Аргайл.

  


В настоящее время в регионе выращиваются сахарный тростник, арахис, сорго, подсолнечник, дыни и овощи. Кроме того, на реке ведётся выработка гидроэлектроэнергии, а город Кунунарра, основанный в 1967 году недалеко от одной из плотин,  является региональным и туристическим центром.

 

 

Последние записи:

________________
Самое популярное на сайте:
________________
Последние записи:
________________
Путешествуем на авто по Австралии: