Marsupial anteater, nambat

7 January, 2011

  

Marsupial anteater, or nambat (Myrmecobius fasciatus) - A mammal family of marsupials, anteaters, lives in Western Australia. Marsupial anteater inhabits mainly eucalyptus and acacia forests and woodlands, dry.
Sizes are small marsupial anteater: body length of 17 - 27 cm, tail - 13-17 cm, weight of an adult animal ranges from 280 to 550 g. The head of a marsupial anteater flattened, an elongated snout and pointed, mouth is small. Vermiform tongue may protrude from the mouth of almost 10 see, eyes large, pointy ears, long tail, fluffy, like proteins. Paws marsupial anteater rather short, widely spaced with strong claws, forelimbs of 5 пальцами, rear - with the 4 паfingers

Marsupial anteater - one of the most beautiful Australian marsupials: is colored gray-brown or reddish color. The hair on the back and upper thighs covered 12.6 white or cream stripes. In the eastern nambatov coloring Odnotonnye, than in Western. The muzzle is visible black longitudinal band. Belly and legs yellowish-white, buffy.

His teeth are very small marsupial anteater, weak and often asymmetrical: molars on the right and on the left are of variable length and width, just a marsupial anteater 50-52 tooth. Hard palate extends far beyond, than most mammals, which is typical of other "dlinnoyazykih" animals (pangolin, Battleships).

It feeds almost exclusively marsupial anteater termites, at least ants, other invertebrates eaten only occasionally. This is the only marsupial, which feeds only on social insects; captive marsupial anteater eats daily to 20 thousand. termites. marsupial anteater looking for food with the help of his very keen sense of smell. Clawed front paws, he digs the soil or rotten wood breaks, then sticky tongue catching termites, swallow prey whole or chewed slightly chitinous shell.

Marsupial anteater quite agile, can climb trees; at the slightest danger hiding in the shelter. He spends the night in secluded areas (shallow burrows, hollows) on a bed of bark, leaves and dry grass. Dream has a very deep, similar to hibernation. There are many cases, when people with fallen trees and accidentally burned marsupial anteater , who does not have time to wake up.

  

Except for the breeding season, marsupial anteaters kept singly, individual occupying an area of ​​up to 150 hectare. Being caught,marsupial anteater does not bite or scratch, but only grunts or whistles abruptly.
The breeding season lasts from nambatov from December to April. At this time, males leave their hunting areas and go in search of females, labeling trees and land oily secretion, which produces a special skin glands on the chest.
Tiny (10 mm long), blind and naked young are born after 2 weeks after mating. The litter 04.02 cub. As the brood pouch of the female is not, they hang on the nipple, clinging to the mother's fur. According to some sources of confinement in a hole length of 1-2 m. Female carries babies on her stomach about 4 months, until they reach the size of 4-5 cm. She then leaves the young in shallow burrows or hollow, continuing to come at night to feed.

By early September, the young begin to nambaty briefly leave the burrow. By October, they go to a mixed diet of termites and milk. Youngstock stays with his mother until 9 months, finally leaving it in December. Sexual maturity is reached in the second year.

Due to the economic development and land clearing marsupial anteater population has declined sharply. However, the main reason for the decrease in its population - persecution of predators. Because of diurnal marsupial anteaters are more vulnerable, than most medium-sized marsupials; They are hunted by birds of prey, dingo, feral dogs and cats, especially red foxes.

Fox completely destroyed in the population of the marsupial anteater Victoria, South Australia and Northern Territory; They survived only in the form of two small populations near Perth. In the late 1970s,. nambatov fewer than 1000 individuals.

The intense security measures, destruction of foxes and reintroduction nambatov population was able to increase. However, the marsupial anteater is still part of the International Red Data Book lists the status of "endangered".

 

 

Recent Entries:

Famous people of Australia, whose life and working activity was associated with Australia

Each country has its own national heroes, that pride themselves on all [more]

System of booking hotels worldwide

To date, all the conditions have been created for travelers not [more]

National Parks of Australia

Australia is the most clean from an environmental point of view, mainland, at its [more]

Warm and hospitable sea coast

How much on Earth places, where you can enjoy the warm sun, [more]

Why Australia is poor surface water

Australia is a continent, Open the Danes in the 17 century. Since then has passed [more]

Benefits of portable acoustic

Today quite many young people can be seen in the hands of [more]

Tangalumskie dolphins, ч4

The dolphins come to this beach at approximately the same time each [more]

Tangalumskaja Bay Wrecks is part of the great barrier reef, ч3

Tangalumskaja Bay Wrecks / Tangalooma Wrecks - the unique part [more]

Famous people of Australia, whose life and working activity was associated with Australia

Each country has its own national heroes, that pride themselves on all [more]

Сумчатый муравьед, намбат

7 Январь, 2011

  

Сумчатый муравьед, или намбат (Myrmecobius fasciatus) — млекопитающее семейства сумчатых муравьедов, обитает в Западной Австралии. Сумчатый муравьед населяет в основном эвкалиптовые и акациевые леса и сухие редколесья.
Размеры сумчатого муравьеда невелики: длина тела 17— 27 см, хвоста — 13—17 см., вес взрослого животного колеблется от 280 до 550 г. Голова у сумчатого муравьеда уплощённая, морда вытянутая и заостренная, рот маленький. Червеобразный язык может высовываться изо рта почти на 10 см., глаза большие, уши заострённые, хвост длинный, пушистый, как у белки. Лапы сумчатого муравьеда довольно короткие, широко расставленные с сильными когтями, передние конечности с 5 пальцами, задние — с 4 пальцами.

Сумчатый муравьед — одно из самых красивых сумчатых Австралии: он окрашен в серовато-коричневый или рыжеватый цвет. Шерсть на спине и верхней части бёдер покрыта 6—12 белыми или кремовыми полосами. У восточных намбатов окраска однотонней, чем у западных. На морде видна чёрная продольная полоса. Брюхо и конечности жёлто-белые, охристые.

Зубы у сумчатого муравьеда очень маленькие, слабые и часто асимметричные: коренные зубы справа и слева могут иметь разную длину и ширину, всего у сумчатого муравьеда 50—52 зуба. Твёрдое нёбо тянется значительно дальше, чем у большинства млекопитающих, что характерно для других «длинноязыких» животных (панголинов, броненосцев).

Питается сумчатый муравьед почти исключительно термитами, реже муравьями, других беспозвоночных поедает только случайно. Это единственное сумчатое, которое питается только социальными насекомыми; в неволе сумчатый муравьед ежедневно поедает до 20 тыс. термитов.  Сумчатый муравьед разыскивает пищу с помощью своего чрезвычайно острого обоняния. Когтями передних лап он раскапывает почву или разламывает гнилую древесину, затем липким языком ловит термитов, добычу глотает целиком или чуть разжевав хитиновые оболочки.

Сумчатый муравьед довольно проворен, может лазить по деревьям; при малейшей опасности прячется в укрытие. Ночь он проводит в укромных местах (неглубоких норах, дуплах деревьев) на подстилке из коры, листьев и сухой травы. Сон у него очень глубокий, похожий на анабиоз. Известно немало случаев, когда люди вместе с валежником случайно сжигали и сумчатого муравьеда , который не успевал проснуться.

  

За исключением периода размножения, сумчатые муравьеды держатся поодиночке, занимая индивидуальную территорию площадью до 150 га. Будучи пойманным,  сумчатый муравьед не кусается и не царапается, а только отрывисто посвистывает или ворчит.
Брачный сезон у намбатов длится с декабря по апрель. В это время самцы покидают свои охотничьи участки и отправляются на поиски самок, метя деревья и землю маслянистым секретом, который вырабатывает особая кожная железа на груди.
Крохотные (10 мм длиной), слепые и голые детёныши рождаются через 2 недели после спаривания. В помёте 2—4 детёныша. Поскольку выводковой сумки у самки нет, они повисают на сосках, цепляясь за шерсть матери. По некоторым сведениям роды происходят в норе длиной 1—2 м. Самка носит детёнышей на животе около 4 месяцев, пока их размеры не достигнут 4—5 см. Затем она оставляет потомство в неглубокой норе или дупле, продолжая по ночам приходить для кормления.

К началу сентября молодые намбаты начинают ненадолго покидать нору. К октябрю они переходят на смешанную диету из термитов и материнского молока. Молодняк остаётся с матерью до 9 месяцев, окончательно покидая её в декабре. Половая зрелость наступает на втором году жизни.

В связи с хозяйственным освоением и расчисткой земель численность сумчатого муравьеда резко сократилась. Однако основная причина уменьшения его численности — преследование хищников. Из-за дневного образа жизни сумчатые муравьеды более уязвимы, чем большинство некрупных сумчатых; на них охотятся хищные птицы, динго, одичавшие собаки и кошки и особенно рыжие лисы.

Лисы полностью уничтожили популяцию сумчатого муравьеда в Виктории, Южной Австралии и Северной Территории; уцелели они только в виде двух небольших популяций неподалёку от Перта. В конце 1970-х гг. намбатов насчитывалось менее 1000 особей.

В результате интенсивных охранных мероприятий, уничтожения лис и реинтродукции намбатов популяцию удалось увеличить. Однако сумчатый муравьед по-прежнему входит в списки Международной Красной книги со статусом «исчезающий».

 

 

Последние записи:

________________
Самое популярное на сайте:
________________
Последние записи:
________________
Путешествуем на авто по Австралии: